Grasslands Nursery Reviews

4.66 Rating 3,214 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend Grasslands Nursery
Visit Website

Phone:
01565 723831

Email:
orders@grasslands.co.uk

Location:
Grasslands Nursery, Free Green Lane, Lower Peover, knutsford

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Grasslands Nursery made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"I ordered 12 red robins. Firstly they weren't delivered until 19.50. The box they came in wasn't sufficient. Around 3/4 foot height but only a depth of around 8". All plants were stacked on top of each other, with no divisions. When they arrived all the earth came out of the pots that were laying near empty. Some branches had been damaged. As the plants were left along while without water, hence the delivery soil was dry and leaves limp. Managed to save them by watering them when arrived. So I have some shrubs that are ok and a few broken. They aren't dead but I don't want broken plants to put into my border. Rangers and complained about this. Grassland ask for photo and an e-mail. I'm still awaiting their response! Somehow I don't think I'll get it. I needed another 12 shrubs as the initial 12 weren't enough. Ordered from another site that deals with hedges as wasn't happy with how I've been treated."
Posted 4 years ago
"First delivery was excellent, well packaged with all plants in a really good condition.second delivery could have been more disappointing, it looked like a 3 year old had thrown 10 plants in a box. When I contacted the company they didn't appear to be concerned in relation to the packing (for example offering to review who packed the plants and provide feedback). They suggested I make further contact if the cplants didn't survive. I have no faith in the prospect if being able to address any issues at a later date as they will probably say I didn't plant them properly. Will not use them again."
Posted 4 years ago
"Dear Grasslands, I paid for my item via Paypal plus courier delivery on 08/05/2015 and it is now 20/05/2015 and there is still no sign of it. I have since heard that the item advertised was not in stock, and that a replacement was being sought. How long must I be expected to wait for it? In this day and age of electronic computing, in surely cannot be difficult to keep track of the stock you have for sale no matter how big the nursery? As it is not good practise to be advertising and selling stock that does not exist. I am disappointed at what has happened and most, disappointed at having to leave such negative comments about what I believe is a good company. However I am just being truthful with regard to this instance, you would not expect me to be otherwise and have graded the performance accordingly. Kind regards, Jim Saunders."
Posted 4 years ago
"plants come damaged not very healthy I did call them did not seem interested So £60 down the drain I'll put this down to bad luck Would not recommend this company Save your money and use a proper garden centre"
Posted 4 years ago
"Plants were packed too tightly and several were damaged, some broken in half and others with shoots broken off. Also several pots broken. Delivered whilst I was out. Did not receive any communication from the delivery company to say they were on their way so I could arrange receipt. Plants delivered onto public footpath and not on our drive. Overall very poor service."
Posted 4 years ago
"I went to grasslands on 20/4/15- 10am Monday morning (very quiet) with a photo of the plants I wanted and the bed to put them in. I asked a lady (with long blonde hair) if she could help me to find them (I had s 13 week old baby in a front sling and a backpack on my back). Her reply was "no, we don't have staff that do that, look at the labels" as she continued to casually put some plants into a trolley. I was so mortified at her outright rudeness I had no reply. I tried to find the plants but bending down to all of them to check what they were was a bit tricky, I then asked a man to help me, he said he usually works out the back and continued doing what he was doing. Needless to say I will never be going back. I went down the road to all in one garden centre who were most helpful."
Posted 4 years ago
"I'll let you know what I think WHEN the plants, promised for last Thursday or Friday actually arrive,"
Posted 4 years ago
"Called to dispute a delivery charge to be told in no uncertain terms by Claire's assistant that they won't refund the charge, don't care if I never use them again and just generally downright rude on the phone. If you have no problems with the order they are nice as pie with you but if you need to dispute/complain, you won't get anywhere, especially if you speak to one of the hired help. Anyhoo, I have contacted my C.C. company who where most helpful and totally agree that parts of their website (bits about delivery charges are totally misleading.)"
Posted 4 years ago
"I had the camelia sent to my good friend on the anniversary of his wife's death . When it arrived it was dried out and falling out of its pot. I must say it was all very disappointing"
Posted 4 years ago
"The product I ordered was apparently out of stock. It was almost a week before I was notified and refunded. So that's a week of waiting for nothing and I now have to wait for another supplier to send me some while the slugs have a field day on my plants. Your system should surely not accept an order for items out of stock or at least next day cancel/refund"
Posted 4 years ago
"I ordered 50 photinia last week and paid £30 for delivery. I am still waiting for the order to come. In frustration I rang to enquire and was told the shrubs would not be coming till next week. They said they were going to ring me but the point is they didnt! I am going abroad a week after the revised delivery time so this means I will be planting at breakneck speed. Im not happy and seriously considering a request for a refund. Nothing told me on the website that there would be a delay and that items were out of stock."
Posted 4 years ago
"Plants are still not dilivered! Someone called me and told me the plant will be delivered between Thu or Fri its Saturday now and no delivery. I took 2 days off work for nothing!"
Posted 4 years ago
"My experience of purchasing from you was extremely disappointing. I have already written a review, please refer to this"
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, sorry to hear you are un happy with your plant, I have looked at your order and one of my colleagues has already offered you a refund and this will be done as soon as we recover the plant back here.

Paul
Posted 4 years ago
"The Customer Service is appalling once an order is placed. My first order was in excess of £400. Grasslands having confirmed a delivery date by email & telephone the day before by their own transport, they then decided to employ couriers who were not able to deliver until a day later & did not have the courtesy to inform me. When the delivery arrived, the Courier apologised because the plants were too large to stand upright & had been taken out of the packaging & laid loosely horizontally on the floor of the lorry. Inevitably, there was some damage. I immediately emailed Grasslands & received no response. It was impossible to return these large Bamboo plants so I proceeded to plant them requesting Grasslands for some compensation. I suggested that the compensation should be in the form of a discount for another order which I would like to negotiate. However, I placed the order for Bark Chipping's at a cost of £140 on line as it was 3.30pm on a Friday & I needed this item asap because freezing temperatures were forecast next week. I therefore paid for next day delivery. I eventually telephoned Grasslands who requested that I forward photographs & they would consider compensation. Before I could forward the photographs & soon after I had made the second order, I received an email stating that no compensation would be considered. Grasslands website stipulated that the next day delivery was indeed the following day, but as this was a Saturday, I was quite prepared to wait until Monday. On Monday at 11am, I received an email stating that the order was being sent out standard later that day. I complained only to be told that as the order was not received until 3.30pm the order could not be processed until Monday & the delivery would be Tuesday. My wife & I were going to a funeral Tuesday & I requested that the delivery was made before 11am. I also complained about the whole service. To date, I have received no response to that email & no offer to refund the 'Next Day Delivery Charge' or any compensation of the appalling service received on such a large order. I advised Grasslands that I intended to make further substantial orders in the Spring as I had recently moved & wanted to renovate the one acre garden area. No response."
Posted 4 years ago
"I bought a very expensive wisteria from the website and when I went to collect it they didn't have one. As of today I still have not had further information about when it may be in stock or money back. Very unhappy!"
Posted 4 years ago
"I have to say the plants are great but regrettably we would never use your company again. This was simply becuase of the attitude of the driver, my wife was home with my two daughters and the driver declined to assist in moving them down the drive (its about 20 feet) so she did it herself and hurt her back. I can not explain how angry I was to hear this level of disservice and can not see in any way this would have been a safety issue so it was sheer laziness on his part, for the amount we spent I expect far more."
Posted 5 years ago
"Extremely Disappointed with the quality of plants, the website descriptions and sale team service. I purchased two black bamboo (Phyllostachys Nigra) advertised as 120-140cm tall. This was not really the case, they do have a couple of new shoots that are in this height range but the actual body/mass of shoots is only half the height at 60cm tall. It will be a good few years before the bamboo grows to be a full clump at 140cm. To add to this both plants are arrived in a very poor state - just about every leaf has brown spots and dry crispy tips. I was told by the team at Grasslands that it was winter damage (more likely a lack of knowledge by the nursery staff that tap water does this to bamboo not winter) and the plants will be fine. I want my plants to be fine now especially if they are costing nearly £40 each not to turn up damaged. Lastly, along with my purchase of the two bamboos I purchased a large tree fern (Dicksonia Antartica) sold as a 4 foot log i.e. 4 feet of trunk below the fronds. So I was a bit confused when it arrived and looked a little short. It was short and measured up at 38 inches or 3'2" no where near 4 foot. This was also mentioned to the sales team who said that they bury around a foot of trunk in the soil to stop it from falling over. What a joke - so after all that a 4 foot log turns out to be a 3 foot log because it is sent without a root ball but instead simply stuck in some soil to keep it up right. So when it comes to planting it out I will in turn need to do the same and be stuck with a 3 foot tree which I don't want or a 4 foot tree that is very top heavy with no root ball to hold it in place. I will never shop here again."
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Mike, I am sorry to hear you are not happy with the plants you got from us.
I assure you that there is no lack of knowledge here, the damage to the leaves on your bamboo was not caused by "Tap Water" but buy scorch from the wind possibly in the winter but also possible in the summer.

With regard to the tree fern, they are sold and priced by the foot, so when you order a 4 ft tree fern you get a 4 ft tree fern potted. this is common practice as they are not native to this country. The are cut down with a chainsaw and imported from Australia (no roots are sent)

of course if you where not happy with the plants you could have sent them back but its probably to late now.
Posted 5 years ago
"The turf has significant areas of dead grass which means we now have a lawn that is mostly green but with many brown patches. My guess is that the brown areas existed before the turf was cut. In addition there are 'skid' areas on the turf where the grass has been ripped/pressed and my guess is that the wet weather and the machine itself caused the additional damage. Overall well below an acceptable standard. Andrew Mcklevey."
Posted 5 years ago
Grasslands Nursery is rated 4.66 based on 3,214 reviews