Grasslands Nursery Reviews

4.66 Rating 3,334 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend Grasslands Nursery
Visit Website

Phone:
01565 723831

Email:
orders@grasslands.co.uk

Location:
Grasslands Nursery, Free Green Lane, Lower Peover, knutsford

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Grasslands Nursery made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
"Plants are excellent, however I feel the delivery time needs improving"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I purchased from here for the first time last year. One of the plants arrive as a root-when it finally grew a few months later it was not the item I ordered. I complained and was basically told tough luck ...."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Unfortunately 2 out of 7 of the plants that were delivered had snapped, with one of them having brown rotted damage to the stem. None of the plants were labelled either, so as a new gardener buying small plants this didn't help with where to plant things It took a while to e mail across all the photos, and to be fair they did help me to identify them, but they have not replaced the damaged plants despite me having paid £10 for delivery in the first place I have emailed back again over a week ago and had no response at all"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"My Ilex quarter standards were delivered promptly, well packed and notification was good. The plants have really good healthy root systems, but the head of one plant is significantly smaller and less dense than the other. As I am planting them as a pair, this is disappointing."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I ordered 5ltr hebe shrubs and expected them to be larger but they were only slightly bigger than 3 ltr ones. However, they were healthy plants. There was too much packaging for just two shrubs."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Telephone response - very good. Ease of ordering - very good. Delivery information - very good Delivery - prompt Price - good Quality of plants - not "bushy" and healthy as photographed and described on website. Some plants were almost bare with blackened leaves. Not what we expected for evergreen/ semi-evergreen plants. The bare plants were carefully hidden under the greener plants in the box so that on first sight all looked very good on delivery. We hope they will grow satisfactorily when planted. Disappointed with the quality."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I've used grasslands twice for shrubs, first time I was impressed, with arrival speed and packaging. Second time plants arrived on a pallet, as expected, 2 days after initial estimate, but all shrubs were laid flat, on their side in a massive box, meaning 50% of the soil in the pots fell out and all plants have been streatched away from their roots where other plants laid across the top of them. I'm waiting to see if they survive or not before contacting grasslands, but thought I would share my experience so far."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Plants had a lot of dead foliage on arrival - I expected better"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Most importantly, this is a real company and the trees arrived and appear as described. Customer service is not great (after a moderate hiccup I used a google search for alternative reviews sites that are not paid for by the company - these sites and management responses to the criticism did not give a good impression at all). In my case, delivery was a bit expensive but the plants reasonably priced. However, next day delivery took a week. It transpired that the company was closed over the period, but they still took the order and sent no information (only confirmation of the next day order). On enquiring, I had a reasonably quick email back from the company. It was pleasant enough, but it did suggest they had adequately warned on the website of the closure - the implication being it was my fault. However, they probably need to employ a better web designer. On investigation this was not altogether the case, they seem to have installed a pop up box that only appears once on the home page (if it is not automatically removed by most people's anti-virus software). In my case, entering the site through clicking on the company's paid for adds on google (the ones they pay for to get top position when you do a google search for the specific items you want) - there is no warning if you go through here nor on the basket or checkout page or on the delivery/terms page (which I think is a legal requirement, but I could be wrong). All in all, the lesson here is that it is a garden centre and the IT is probably not perfect, I'm feeling out of pocket slightly and more importantly delayed by a week, but I will live."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Plants we ordered were fine but order took 6 days to arrive on a 3-5 day service and when I chased it up I got a one line reply stating that the delivery would be made the following day, no explanation why it was late and no apology."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"The products received were fine, however my only condition when ordering was that I was notified 24 hours in advance of delivery. This didn't happen, resulting in a pallet of hedging being left unannounced on a public footpath outside my house while I was away. I now have a large pallet in my small garden which the delivery company could have taken away if I had been notified in time."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Order arrived on time, good quality plants. However, my wife was told by the driver two plants would have to follow as they were out of stock. When I checked, we were missing another 20 plants. I emailed and received a prompt response saying they would follow with the other 2 missing plants. An apology would have been nice though."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Good quality healthy plants at a reasonable price. Ordering was easy and order despatch speedy. Delivery charge very expensive. Plants despatched in poor quality packaging which was badly damaged on all 3 boxes, resulting in some of the plants having snapped stems and broken pots/squashed roots."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Phoned to ask about when the product could be sent out told if I ordered the product Wednesday afternoon it would be sent out on Thursday for delivery Friday, So placed the order and then received an email to say it would not be sent to the following week, phoned grassland to explain what happened and they said they don't send items on a Thursday as not guaranteed 24 hour delivery even though that's the only choice on their website, so asked them to refund me in that case, phone went down and left that they would refund me. 5 Mins later I had a phone call back to say they could send the goods, so I thought that's great, the goods arrived on the Friday morning, and when we opened them up they were placed on there sides in pots and the soil had fallen out all over the place and the plants were in a pretty bad state, I wouldn't say that I received the best service from this company and would not recommend them to any one else however I did get my bushes even though only half of them were any good, didn't bother to contact grasslands as I felt this was done deliberately rather than by accident. We wont use this company again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I bought Privet in 4.5l pots described as 120cm tall and bushy and Holly in 3l pots. Both were delivered quick quickly and well packaged. The Holly was as expected but the privet did not match the description or site photograph at all. Whilst they were about the right height they were not bushy at all. The bottom 80cm had no foliage at all, just bare stems, like the pots had been grown all crammed together so that light could not reach the lower part ofthe plants. Disapppointing."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Initially , quick turnaround as my plants arrived very swiftly. On unpacking, very sturdy cardboard packaging with holes/inserts for the leaves/flower stems to be inserted through to avoid damage . I had just two plants, one was packed very well - the other hadn't had the leaves or flower stems inserted through the appropriate hole - and were crushed or bent resulting in them being broken off ! Advised their customer service who to be honest weren't the slightest bit interested. Would I shop with them again ? Doubtful"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I purchased a pink sycamore (acer pseudoplatanus brilliantissimum) tree advertised as being in a 20 litre pot. Delivery was quick and the tree arrived in good condition in a 20 litre plant pot. I have to say that when I purchase a tree or shrub which is described as being in a particular sized pot I expect that it is established in that pot unless it has been downsized for transit. The only indication provided as to the size and age of the tree that one is getting is the size of the pot and so to transfer up to a larger pot immediately before transit I feel is more a case of sharp business practice than of gardening necessity. The tree I had bought had obviously been growing elsewhere, probably in a smaller pot and had only been roughly and hastily transfered into the 20 litre immediately prior to dispatch. The roots of the tree were clearly on the surface with loose compost added to bulk out the large pot. This meant that the tree required immediate repotting/resetting on its arrival. Technically all of the information on the advert was correct. That is to say that I bought and received an acer pseudoplatanus brilliantissimum in a 20 litre pot. Do I feel that I was more than a little mislead? Yes. Will I buy again from this supplier without physically seeing the product? No. Would I recommend to a friend or colleague? No, not really. The tree is lovely however and so far (1 week) doing fine thank you."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I spent more that £250 on hedging and although the plants were healthy enough they were not all the size that they should have been. Two of the plants had obviously only just been put into bigger pots so that they could be sold as bigger plants. The delivery people were a lot less than helpful when they arrived. Overall I would not rush to use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I found the staff on the phone very unhelpful and couldn't put the phone down quick enough telling me the plants I wanted were there on the site I just had to look for them. Delivery was prompt, however upon opening the packing I found a number of the plants squashed against each other, some branches snapped and the plants not in what I would call A1 condition"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Prices okay but found some plants cheaper at my local DIY store. Good range though but quality can vary. Disappointed with customer service though. Bought a white flowering plant and 3 weeks later when the buds opened it was purple. Rang to be told must have been labelled wrong and could return for an exchange or refund. I live nearly 40 minutes away though! Ended up returning for a refund as didn't want purple. Considering plant cost less than £20 they could have offered a refund over the phone without making me return it or at least have offered a free cheaper plant when I got there to compensate me for petrol and time. I own a business and would never have a customer out of pocket due to an error on my part. Average customer service doesn't get repeat custom, afraid I'll be looking elsewhere in future."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Grasslands Nursery is rated 4.66 based on 3,334 reviews