Grasslands Nursery Reviews

4.67 Rating 3,438 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Grasslands Nursery
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.90 out of 5
Read Grasslands Nursery Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01565 723831

Email:

orders@grasslands.co.uk

Location:

Grasslands Nursery, Free Green Lane, Lower Peover, knutsford

Write Your review

Tell us how Grasslands Nursery made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Disappointing. Plants arrived not in great shape - some diseased, some damaged, some very badly pot bound. £28 pallet delivery wasteful and expensive for my small order. Left with loads of cardboard and heavy pallet to dispose of. Have unable to contact Grasslands by phone and no reponse email. Not recommended.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I ordered 2 Photinia topiary trees, when they arrived they had brown spots on the leaves and one in particular seemed stressed. When I telephoned them I got a very indifferent girl on the phone, I managed to get an email address from her and contacted Claire about them with my photos. Her response was that they should have been trimmed before I got them (!) . It's just not good enough...she asked how she could make me happy ? Try phoning and sounding like you are interested. I put lots of research into my purchases and rang them several times. I was not happy with what was delivered to my home, they do not look like on the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi I ordered two expensive fern trees from you and after paying for the 2 - 5 day delivery I am still waiting for them after 8 days from purchase. I was told by e-mail that I would receive them today and after sitting in all day it is now19.45pm and I still have not received them. What a waste of my time. Will not be using this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Order number 600007924. 1) Delivery arranged for Friday 4th September did not happen. Tried to contact Grasslands at 1555 hours to seek information about my live plants but no one answered the telephone. Again telephoned on Saturday morning - no one available. Email also posted on Friday 4/9/15. Plants delivered on Monday 7th September. 2) Order invoice and delivery note reads, "6 Laurel Hedging 150 - 160cm 30 Litre". Two of the plants were delivered in 25Litre pots. Photograph takes which clearly shows the difference between a 30Litre and a 25Litre pot and the quality of the Laurel in the smaller pot which does not match the plant in the 30Litre pot (less bushy and smaller).
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Well packaged & quick delivery, but the Hydrangea Vanille Fraise was very spindly.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Plants packed sideways. They were delivered the right way up as it said on the box - so all the earth was loose in the box and the plants were left with the bare roots exposed. I did call but the lady who answered didn't seem concerned. I have taken photos of the delivered plants - lets hope they survive.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Having ordered a large number of Laurel Hedges at 2m tall, the next day delivery did not deliver next day, with no reason as to why they had failed to deliver. The quality I will say were fine, although given in the wrong sized pots. Next day delivery as was to find out, can mean by 6pm, which to me is not what was expected without reading the small print. I would have appreciated morning or lunch time delivery, so the hired help paid to plant the Laurels 'next day' could have done so.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The 16 plants were packed on their side, so most of the soil from the pots ended up at the bottom of the 2 boxes. Some other companies use cling film to keep the soil in the pot. Or you could have packed the plants upright.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I think this is the first online review I've written but we were very disappointed with the service we received from Grasslands so felt others should be aware before ordering from them. We spent over £350 on box trees and paid for next day delivery as we had family to stay to help us with the planting. Having waited in all day for the delivery I received a phone message from the delivery company saying that it wasn't possible to deliver that day after all. They then didn't answer my calls and when I followed up with Grasslands I was just told to keep trying as they couldn't get in touch either. At no point was I offered a refund for the £50 delivery charge we paid. When I asked for the money to be refunded I was told they would 'look into it' so I asked for someone to get back to me - which they never did. It's taken three phone calls to finally receive confirmation that they will reimburse the £15 extra we paid for next day delivery without any apology for the inconvenience. Very poor customer service and we'll certainly be shopping elsewhere for the remainder of the trees and shrubs we need.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Placed two orders for two hedge photonias, the first ones arrived as beautiful, healthy plants. The second lot arrived half dead, stringy, parched poorly plants. No help when I contacted Grasslands whatsoever just told to water the plants. Will never buy here again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I bought 13 leylandii plants. When they arrived at my house they were piled on the pavement by the delivery person in such a heap that I was initially unable to count them. Once I had managed to stand them up I realised that three had broken secondary branches, one of the main central stems was snapped (35cm from the top) and two of the pots protecting the roots were missing. I immediately contacted the nursery and sent them photos of the damaged plants as requested. After an exchange of e-mails I was told by customer services that if I got the "broken bits trimmed up i'm sure they will be very nice"; well, let's hope so.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Made my purchase from Grasslands based on the perception that they were a national nursery that could supply top quality goods and service at market rates. Order placing seemed fairly straightforward and I selected the option to add delivery instructions "please leave at front door if not in". When I eventually received the goods Parcelforce explained that the instruction could not be carried out as Grasslands delivery method required the customer to sign for receipt. Frustrating! The plants I ordered were described as being 20-25cm. The ones delivered had been recently scalped back to an exact 20cm. Disappointing! In terms of price I could have bought locally full 25cm Buxus balls for the same price. In summary I didn't get the delivery I requested, the plants appeared to have been crudely cropped to fit the delivery box rather than to supply quality items within the advertised range and the price was not representative of what the market was offering.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Plants were covered in lichen and bittercress and had been recently moved from a 1 litre to 3 litre pot which they had not rooted into, worse was the fact that they had been pruned, Ilex crenata is fastigiate and I wanted them as elegant upright plants not having had their tops cut off
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Always feels like they don't have time to deal with your requests, as a trade buyer Grasslands are un-organised, rude at times and make you feel like you are trying to draw blood from a stone. There is no continuity in service and you always get passed from person to person and having been to the site on a number of occasions the staff always looked stressed or just really annoyed at being at work and it's like i'm asking them to poke their eyes out with stick. Needless to say after a number of years trying to work with them due to the fact they do actually have ok prices and decent stock of certain things, i have promised myself to search for another supplier and life is too short to deal with such a rude company who can't be bothered with customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Still waiting for plants to be delivered and have not been informed on any delivery times
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I am still waiting for my plants it's been over a week no communication ! Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Poor quality shrub received. I realise the leaves would be dropping at this time of the year, but black and shrivelled and/or completely bug-eaten, makes me doubt whether this shrub will survive. Contacted seller ahead of posting this review, to see if they would like to rectify, but I appeared to get some standard reply which did not address my query or allay my fears - neither did it serve to reinstill my faith in the seller. Would not buy from them again. As this was for a gift, feel I will be purchasing another from a reputable supplier as it is too risky to give. Look elswehere
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
PLants good , but customer relations not so good. Not willing to @bend@
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I have sent two emails with no reply. my plants arrived unlabelled and it is difficult for me to discern which plant is which
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I placed my order at around 2.30pm for next day delivery. However, I didn't get any confirmation email re delivery the following day so I rang Customer Service. The person I spoke to was genuinely amazed that I could have expected a next day delivery the next day. 'But you might have placed the order at 11pm at night' she said. We obviously wouldn't be able to deliver the next day. I pointed out that I hadn't placed my order late at night. It would be very helpful if your website gave a deadline for when next day really is. Many other sites mention that all orders placed by a certain time will be delivered the next day but if you're later than that deadline, it will be the day after that. When the plants did arrive, they were good quality and luckily, there was someone home to take delivery. However it was a bad start.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Grasslands Nursery is rated 4.67 based on 3,438 reviews