Grasslands Nursery Reviews

4.66 Rating 3,380 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend Grasslands Nursery
Visit Website

Phone:
01565 723831

Email:
orders@grasslands.co.uk

Location:
Grasslands Nursery, Free Green Lane, Lower Peover, knutsford

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how Grasslands Nursery made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver, Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
96%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
5
Anony****
"We ordered 190 box hedging in pots and they arrived in two days ready for us to plant last weekend.They were very good quality given the very competitive price we paid.We were very impressed."
Report
Posted 1 month ago
5
Jan St****
"Really impressed with the size, health, shape and quality of the trees I ordered. And delivery was a top level service."
Report
Posted 1 month ago
Nira Sh****
"As a Garden Designer I regularly use Grasslands to supply my Clients' gardens. Zach, Julie and Judith always go out of their way to ensure I have everything I need. Very high quality plants. On the odd occasion, has there been an issue, they go out of their way to assist. Thank you Grasslands for helping me create beautiful gardens. Nira, Ultimate Garden Designs"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very good service but I haven’t got the plants yet"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"I am not able to comment on the quality of plants; the day after I placed my order online I received email telling me that the plant I ordered was no longer in stock, despite the fact that their website was still saying "in stock". So it seems that there is a problem with updating their online information. I received a refund promptly."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Description of product bought and reply from email very poor. Delivery charge is not as expected for time to deliver"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Plants beautiful, swift delivery, great value for money, reason I have only given Grasslands a two star rating is because of the New Zealand Flatworms which came in my plants! These are a predator of our common earthworm! The hassle of having to wash off all the soil and hunt for flatworms and eggs was a time consuming chore I hadn’t banked on and would’ve preferred not to undertake. Grasslands weren’t overly concerned when I contacted them and just referred me back to the website (I had already informed them of) on how to get rid of them. Unfortunately I won’t be buying from Grasslands again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"My delivery arrived in good time and the plants were in good health. However on unpacking the first plant (Osmanthus Buckwoodii) I found two New Zealand Flatworms (had to Google what they were). They are a natural predator of our common earthworm and need to be controlled. The website www.gardenorganic.org.uk requests sightings are logged on their survey and suggests ways of disposal. I contacted Grasslands for advice but was just given the same advice which I’d already found on the web. This entails washing all the soil from the roots of the 4 shrubs and a Jasmine, disposing of all the soil in the household waste and inspecting for eggs. I’m happy with the quality and size of my plants but think Grasslands have a duty of care towards their customers to advise them that Flatworms have been found in their nursery. They didn’t seem overly concerned but I wouldn’t have purchased any plants had I known Flatworm could be present. If garden centres are aware of this pest we should be warned before purchasing so that we have a choice whether we want the hassle of washing/checking any plants!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Lovely plant on dispatch, but packaging allowed it to arrive with the top foot snapped off, a real shame."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Out of 9 Thuja Brabant rootballs, planted early in the year, 3 have died - all planted in a row, and the dead ones are not side by side! Told that rootballs can fail - so Grasslands take no responsibility at all. Offered a small discount of £7.00 per tree if I decide to replace, but with £100 delivery makes them very expensive. Also no guarantee that the replacements will not fail, as they are just the same rootballed ones potted on. Not worth the risk. Have used many other online nurseries as we have planted up a garden of 0.6 acre, with no problems from any other supplier."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Pay four ten plants got nine the box was ripped and just left in back garden .so part of the problem may have bin the delivery driver still not good way .two treat people."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"The plants are ok, thanks. However the packaging was pretty hopeless : the cardboard is so thin as to provide very little protection. One of two boxes was almost completely destroyed in transit. The consequence was that each pot in which the plants were transported were cracked and broken, leaking soil/peat filling into the box. The carrier was hopeless, too. No indications of delivery time - simply good luck we were in. They missed us on the first delivery, but no contact details to change the following day or to check time. Very poor service for the c£150 spent. Must do better."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Not worth the hassle if you're a trade customer. I purchased nearly £750's worth of pleached Photinia trees, and was sent the wrong sizes. They were supposed to be clear stem of 1.5m. I know this measurement would not be exact by 1/2 cm (as stated in their terms 'All sizes quoted are approximate'). However, the trees that arrived had a stem of 1.64m! Which would mean I'd have to plant them 14cm deeper to provide screening of a fence underneath. I paid £60 for delivery. I sent photos and complained, as I'd booked to plant the trees for a regular customer and ordered in advance. I then had to cancel this, and I wasn't free for another month to come and replant! Consequently, my customer wasn't happy, understandably. Fortunately they know I have a good reputation. The other website descriptions for pleached trees state a range e.g 80-100cm stem. This one didn't. Apparently I should have stated that I wanted a 1.5m stem! Grasslands refused to swap for the right sized trees free of charge. They finally negotiated for me paying £30 to have a swap. They found some at 1.46m stems. Therefore the range could be +-1.46m - +-1.64m. I asked for a delivery time for the swap, right up until the night before, and was never given one. They then turned up at 6:45am, and I wasn't able to tell my customers. I then had an email at 9am saying they'd let me know a delivery time! I never heard back from them. I felt disappointed that Grasslands didn't own up to having the wrong website description, and blamed me for their error, or exchange them free of charge. I won't be using them again, which is unfortunate for them because, as a garden designer in Bath, I spend thousands of pounds on plants every year, and I would have reordered if the service had been better."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"The quality of the trees was excellent and the delivery was very quick, however the delivery charge was £100 and they were just dumped on my drive with the driver leaving as fast as he could... I won’t use you again."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"The plants seem mostly O.K., if a bit droopy and dry. However, the whole thing was a nightmare, as usual, due to plants delivered by Royal Mail Parcel force. I can't stay in 24/7, so a card is left. I am then dashing around in taxis as the parcel is moved from one post office to another. The parcel was too big for buses. I won't use you again. Almost all my plants are from Waitrose Garden, Crocus and Sarah Raven. Superb delivery. L.j. Hawkins"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Delivery options, information and service do not live up to the quality of the product. Next day service paid for, next day service was not available on our delivery. No refund offered."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I received an email telling me that the delivery would be on a Wednesday and there would be a tracking number for me to use. I then received an email changing the delivery date to Thursday. Having not been given a tracking number I contacted customer support via the website and was told that as it was a pallet delivery there would not be a tracking number available, but was told that they would contact the deliverer for an eta. However I heard nothing further. So whilst I am extremely satisfied with the quality of the goods ordered, I am dissatisfied with the customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Hedging plants not height you pay for."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Please note! If you order after 12pm you will not qualify for next day delivery. This is not made clear on the website. I ordered after 12, opted for next day delivery option and paid the premium delivery charge without any alert that I had missed the deadline. The next morning I rang to ask when I could expect the delivery and was told I had ordered after 12 so had missed next day delivery. When I protested that there was no warning of a deadline and that the website had allowed me to press on the next day option as well as taken an extra £15 for premium delivery, I was told the information was in terms and conditions and I would not get the extra back I had paid. At the very least, the website should make the 12 pm deadline more explicit and not allow you to press the next day delivery option if you have passed the 12pm. I hope they amend their website accordingly so other people won't be misled or pay extra unnecessarily."
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"Why pay £30 delivery on £60 of small rooted hedging Max 30cm high?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I ordered some plants from the website, at the point of order it did not say low on stock or out of stock so I proceeded with payment. My payment was immediately tacked from my account. After 2 days I received an email stating they were out of stock and that my account would be refunded. After a further 5 days my account had still not been refunded so I emailed asking for confirmation when this would happen. Next day I received another email stating the refund would be ASAP. Happily after a further 3 days the money is back in my account. How come they can take my money immediately but I had to wait 10 days for a refund?"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"products are good but service is terrible. One week after ordering and paying (over £600) I was told on the morning of delivery that 3 key items were not available - I was asked to make an instant decision as the truck was being loaded. I was proposed alternatives however these were found to totally unsuitable as ,unlike the ordered items, they could not stand full sun. when the delivery came it had a key item missing (rootgrow) so I could not start the planting! I needed to spend an extra hour travelling to the shop to collect."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I bought one initially, planning to buy another if it worked in the tight patio space available. It is a decent plant and I would have bought another but the delivery took longer than stated and expensive (£30 for less than a 5 mile trip) and it arrived with a very large split the pot. The delivery guy was going to leave it on the pavement and not inside the property but did eventually help after watching me struggling with it (for a long time). For complicated reasons it had to stay in its original pot for a few days in baking heat with a hose pipe ban and no means of efficient watering because the water gushed out the side. Consequently it is drier than it should be and now looks unhappy. I bought a lot of plants recently from The Palm Centre. The contrast in customer service, speed and care in delivery is marked, so unfortunately I won't buy another from Grasslands."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Grasslands Nursery is rated 4.66 based on 3,380 reviews